U.S. adds more countries to fingerprinting program

22 Nov 2002 22:39

WASHINGTON, Nov 22 (Reuters) - The U.S. Department of Justice on Friday announced additional countries to be included in its fingerprinting and registration program at ports of entry into the United States.

Justice officials said the department added Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Eritrea, Lebanon, Morocco, North Korea, Oman, Qatar, Somalia, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen to its list for non-immigrant aliens to be fingerprinted prior to entering the United States as part of beefed up efforts to stop attacks on American soil.

They also said that males born on or before Dec. 2, 1986 were considered "highest risk" for attack although tighter security measures would not exclude females.

The latest measures target non-immigrant aliens who entered the United States on or before Sept. 30 and plan to remain until at least Jan. 10.

Officials said they expected even more countries to be added to the list within the next three months.

Alert news is provided by Reuters.